New BMW owner/autocrosser

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Andrew Smith
    Participant

Hey everyone,

I’m looking to get into autocrossing my “new” 09 328i coupe. I’d like to come observe and possibly ride along at the next meet (which looks like its this weekend), since I am completely new to the scene. Would anyone be willing to offer a ride-along? I’d be willing to do work during the runs, to get a feel for that as well 🙂 .

Dave Dunwoodie
    Participant

I’d like to suggest you classify your car, and sign up for your 1st AX this week. You can request a coach to ride with you at signup, and there will be plenty of helpful friendly people to answer any questions during the day & at your worker position.

Brad Vaughan
    Participant

You will always be able to grab a ride with for the first few runs in each run group.

You are welcome in mine. Just look for the Phoenix Yellow E46 M3 in A class..

I support Daves comment.. Just jump in.. Plenty of people to coach and assist you in your first AX.

Brad

Andrew Smith
    Participant

Are there loaner helmets by chance? It looks like mine won’t get here until next week. If that’s the case, I’ll register this week! Thanks for the help getting started.

Dave Dunwoodie
    Participant

Yes, there are loaner helmets. BTW, you are also welcome to ride with me if you are free when Gonzo runs.

Dave – #116

Andrew Smith
    Participant

That’s great, thanks! I’ll look out for you.

I registered for the event and am in the B class #700. See ya Saturday!

Dave Dunwoodie
    Participant

Excellent! I’m looking forward to meeting you Saturday. If the trend from the last 2 events continues, you’ll be driving 2nd, working 3rd, and the AA & C classes will be running 1st where you can find a ride with some very skilled drivers. Jeff can pipe in if this is not the case.

Jeff Roberts
    Participant

Thanks everyone… Welcome Andrew! You made the right choice jumping right in.