How much is extra tire performance worth/useable?

Welcome to the GGC Autocross Program Forums GGC Autocross Forums Autocross Discussion How much is extra tire performance worth/useable?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Michael Costa
    Participant

So I am looking at some “Max Performance Summer” tires like the Hankook V12, Sumitomo HTR ZIII, and the DunlopSP Sport Max TT, and comparing it with an extreme performance tire like the Dunlop Direzza Star Specs. There’s about a $400 difference between fitting my car with the Hankook’s and the Star Specs. My question is, is it worth the difference? Or perhaps a better question is, will I be able to take advantage of the difference given that I am relatively new to the sport? Are we talking about a difference that is only noticeable at the hairy edge of stability, or will the difference be plainly obvious to an intermediate AutoX’er?

I’ve had a track guy recommend the Hankook’s, and have definitely heard a number of veteran AutoX’rs rave about the Star Specs.

Brad Vaughan
    Participant

So last year I went from (after 1 year on them) Hankook Ventus V12 (Max Performance) to a Bridgestone RE11 (Extreme Performance) last year and I was probably .75 to 1 second closer (over a 60 second course) to identical spec cars and more consistent (because I did not over drive them as much trying to catch up)

You can look at historical times in A class for me to see the difference. I started last year on the new tire (the only change).

B

Aleksey Kadukin
    Participant